May 26, 2017 Little Anthony, Big Value

IMG_1285

Little Anthony & The Imperials, We Are…, End 303, 1959

Not to sound like a broken record, but I always buy any reasonably priced 50s record.  Not just because I usually get one home and find a pleasant surprise when I look it up in my trusty Goldmine Record Album Price Guide, but also because they are really fun to listen to.  This record was a little bit of both.

IMG_1286

There were two price tags on this record.  While I knew this record would be valuable, the $100 price tag meant I would never get to know what it sounded like.  Then I noticed the second price tag.  At $5, I didn’t have to think twice about buying it.  But what price tag was right?  The clerk charged me $5, and I didn’t question him, so I raced home with it to look it up.  It turns out that this little $5 record would also be a value at $100.  Goldmine values We Are The Imperials at $250 for a good copy.

IMG_1287

Sure, there is some hiss, but the record is a very good copy.  The hit, Tears On My Pillow lead it off, but the whole album is filled with that classic New York Doo-Wop sound.  Eagle-Eyed Neil Sedaka fans will notice The Diary on here.  Sedaka was thrilled to present his best song to The Imperials for this record as a follow up to Tears…, but it didn’t chart.  The failure of it was a shock to him to the point where he recorded it himself.  It was his first single as an artist, and a pretty good sized hit.  But trivia aside, I found a real gem $245 under value!

Today’s Summary:
Cost: $5, $37 Remaining

1 thought on “May 26, 2017 Little Anthony, Big Value”

Leave a Reply

