May 25, 2017 A $3 Miracle

IMG_1281

Smokey Robinson & The Miracles, Going To A Go-Go, Tamla TS-267, 1965

If your goal is to collect every Motown album, you sometimes pick a placeholder.  It would be a really great if I found a near mint stereo copy of this incredible Miracles album for $3, but all I got was this “good” copy.  There are pops and crackle galore through the best songs, but it’s still really great to hear these classic Motown tracks in original stereo.  The production is all incredible, especially seeing as the music was all recorded in the basement of a cramped old house in West Detroit.

IMG_1282

Actually, side 2 plays really well.  With all four top 40 hits from the album on side 1, I’m guessing the original owners hardly every played side 2.  The non hits are songs I’ve barely ever heard, so it’s easier to hear how good The Miracles were.   I always pay more attention to a new (to me) song when I hear one than I do to, say, the 26,851st time I’ve heard The Tracks Of My Tears.

IMG_1284

The original owners, who were apparently not very good at maintaining their record players. but also used the back of the jacket to make a list of their favorite Miracles songs.      They must have been real fans though because the songs listed go all the way back to Bad Girl, one of the first Miracles records to chart.  This copy is good enough to hold me over for the near mint copy that I’ll find one day, but I’m grateful to have it.

Today’s Summary:
Cost: $3, $42 Remaining

 

Leave a Reply

