April 28, 2017 This Is $2

IMG_1014

Various Artists, This Is Soul, Atlantic SD-8170, 1968

I think I’ve been clear so far by saying I don’t usually buy-or even look for- various artists  or greatest hits packages.  I’d rather have the original album(s) that feature the songs and get the fuller picture of the artist and the times the songs were recorded.  It used to bug me to hear some C-List celebrity on a Time Life CD collection infomercial say things like “Do you have any idea how long it would take you to track down all of these records?!?”.  Why yes, I do, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

IMG_1015

But every now and then though, something catches my eye.  For this record, it wasn’t the terrible artwork.  C’mon Atlantic, it’s 1968 already, people know you cater to African American artists.  Put THEM on the cover!  What did cause me to add this to my pile was the amazing collection that Atlantic put together.  Not only are there hits from the past like Ray Charles and The Drifters, but also current records from different labels that were distributed by Atlantic.  It’s very rare to see this and even tiny Karen Records is represented with the biggest hit the label ever had, The Capitol’s Cool Jerk.

IMG_1016

It’s not in perfect condition, but this is one album you could spin at a party and get compliments from people about how great your playlist is.  Spotify would kill to have these mixes.  This was indeed Soul Music, compiled at the peak of it’s popularity into one record.  There’s not a bad track on here, and I’m really glad I found it.

Today’s Summary:
Cost: $2, $198 Remaining

Leave a Reply

