April 7, 2017 Latin Ala Whoa No!

IMG_0864

Peggy Lee, Latin Ala Lee, Capitol T-1290, 1960

I love a good Peggy Lee album, and this is one of her best.  I already had this album, but when I saw it a a store with a bulk purchase scheme, in this case 5 albums for $10, and I had 9 chosen, I added it to my pile and quickly left.  The jacket is in such good shape that I thought I could compare the one I had with this one and sleeve shift to create the best one from the two,

IMG_0865

I’m not the only one who liked this album.  Paul McCartney did too, and he learned The Beatles’ version of Till There Was You from this very record.  While it’s hard to imagine The Beatles covering a Broadway show tune, Peggy Lee showed how to completely rearrange one into something uniquely hers.  The Queen Mother herself applauded for The Beatles’ version when she heard it played live for her at the Royal Command Performance at the London Palladium.

IMG_0866

Unfortunately, this was the record I spent $2 on.  About 1/3 of its missing and it’s a cruel irony to read the original Capitol Records inner sleeve about “This Protective Envelope”.  At least I got that and a near mint jacket.  Sometimes one grades both sides of a record for how it plays, in this case, I would say that the right 2/3rds play much better than the left 1/3 does.  As for me, I’m off to the tattoo parlor have “always look at a record before you buy it” placed on my arm.

Today’s Summary:
Cost: $2, $243 Remaining

Leave a Reply

