March 31, 2017 A Day In The Life Of A Cheap Record Buyer

IMG_0509

The Beatles, Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band, Capitol SMAS-2653, 1967

While I sort of put down records like this yesterday, I only really meant that I’d rather have 20 fun albums for the $40 price of one clean copy of Sgt. Pepper.  I never said anything about finding a $2 copy though.  I’d seen this record for weeks before I bought it, sadly languishing in a $2 bin.  It’s clearly been though a pretty serious flood sometime in in the past 50 years.  The jacket is horribly warped, the spine is illegible, and there’s terrible ring wear.

IMG_0510

But it did have the semi-rare insert card, a odd collection of thick paper pop-out tiara, badges and mustache.  I know I tore mine apart when I first bought my first copy of this record, and I know I wasn’t alone in doing that, so finding an intact one is pretty rare.

IMG_0511

So one day, I looked at the record, expecting to see a badly scratched, mold encrusted record.   was planning on writing about why you should always save up for an especially nice copy of an essential record like Sgt. Pepper.  But what I found inside was a decent looking original stereo album.  I added it to my pile, and it was the first record I played when I got home.  It’s the best copy I own!  My guess is that the flood happened a long time ago and the record never got played again.  That it cost $2 is amazing, and I can look for a better cover for it.  So this column turned into one about taking a chance on something that looks like it’s inbox shape, but really isn’t when you get it home.

Today’s Summary:
Cost: $2, $262 Remaining

March Summary:
$107 Spent, $3.45 per record

Leave a Reply

