March 29, 2017 Oh Honey You’re Hirting Me

IMG_0570

Al Hirt, Honey In The Horn, RCA Victor LPM-2733, 1963

I do love a good Al Hirt record.  While I’m clearly one of the few people to ever write that sentence (based on the price of his records today), I’m not ashamed to admit it.  It’s the thrill of finding a mint condition record for very little money that you have never head before and you completely fall in love with that I’m after, and the Used Instrumental bin is where I usually find them.

IMG_0571

It’s not just that Al Hirt had some of the greatest nicknames this side of James Brown that makes me want to have all of his records.  I really can’t tell you why The Round Mound Of Sound appeals to me so much.  Al “He’s The King” Hirt made an amazing trumpet sound, and since “jumbo” was from New Orleans, he grew up learning from some the all-time jazz greats.  That he recorded for RCA in the 50s and 60s makes his records all the more appealing to me, with them adding The Anita Kerr Singers to sing background parts with no lead vocals and enough echo to propel a Mardi Gras float down Bourbon Street.

IMG_0572

This pristine $3 copy of his biggest selling record still wears its original shrink wrap.  It’s not a particularly hard record to find, but I’ll buy virtually any record in this condition for that price.   It’s just a bonus that I happen to really like it.  Virtually everyone on Earth knows the hit Java, but not many people know that this album was one of two Hirt placed in the 1964 year end Top 10.  That was the year of The Beatles, and this album peaked at #3 behind two Beatles albums.

Today’s Summary:
Cost: $3, $265 Remaining

Leave a Reply

