March 24, 2017 Hang In There Baby!

IMG_0606

Monteux Vienna Philharmonic, Symphonie Fantastique, RCA LM-2362, 1960

I really didn’t even want to know what this is all about.  If ever there was a time I bought a record for the cover, this was it.  Here is a porcelain skinned and heavily made up Barbie doll dressed up as a belly dancer with her hair in a bun and covered by a pink lace shawl. It’s all overshadowed by the hangman’s noose about to smear her make up as it goes around her head.  And she doesn’t seem all that concerned about it either, using her last few moments alive to flash some bedroom eyes.

IMG_0607

I don’t buy classical records.  Yes, I know, I should try to improve and expand my horizons, but I get much more of a thrill from finding a decent cheap copy of Julie London’s Yummy Yummy Yummy (I Got Love In My Tummy) than I ever will from a 1960 recording of an 1830 symphony written by Hector Berlioz.  Incidentally, the noose bit all makes sense after reading the wikipedia page on the strange life of Hector Berlioz.

IMG_0608

I’m not alone in my distaste for records like this.  Many record shops have classical sections tucked into a lonely dust filled corner.  There’s hardly ever anyone looking through the bins.  Without the magical cover, this would just be another sad addition to the pile.  It’s this kind of record that winds up becoming an art project, cut into coasters or a cheap clock that you’d find at a crafts fair somewhere.  I only found it because it was misfiled into my favorite store’s discount Jazz bin.  Maybe someday my curiosity will get the better of me and I’ll actually try to listen to this, but for now, it’s a prime candidate for framing.

Today’s Summary:
Cost: $2, $279 Remaining

Leave a Reply

