March 19, 2017 Gigi Tyler Moore

IMG_0592

Gordon Fleming, Gigi, Golden Tone C-4035, 1960

I wasn’t paying all that much attention when I flipped though a pile of records at a vintage store when I first saw this record.  I thought to myself that the cover model looked like Mary Tyler Moore, so I splurged $2 for if on a whim.  It wasn’t until I looked through my new purchases, looking for TV themed records that I noticed that it IS Mary Tyler Moore on the cover of this discount record version of the stage and screen hit musical Gigi.

IMG_0593

It turns out that MTM made her way into show business by being a cover model for the Tops and Golden Tone record companies.  Both are long defunct discount labels based in Los Angeles, and they released generic covers of soundtracks and public domain songs by anonymous musicians and sold them at discount prices.  To compete, they used attractive young girls for their record covers, and Mary Tyler Moore appeared on (it seems) about 12 of them in the late 50s and into 1960.  Landing a gig as Laura Petrie on The Dick Van Dyke Show in 1961 finally stopped this strange aspect of her career.

IMG_0594

Gigi won the 1959 Oscar for Best Picture of 1958, and the Lerner & Lowe musical was a broadway smash before that.  That made it a prime candidate for people to make cover version of the music.  That’s about as kind as I can be to the actual music of this album.  It’s not it’s badly made, it’s just not that well made.   This really is one to buy for the cover, and judging by what it lists for on eBay, I got a screaming deal!

Today’s Summary:
Cost: $2, $289 Remaining

Leave a Reply

