March 8, 2017 Oh You Do, Do You?

IMG_0513

Earle Hagen, I Spy, Capitol ST-2839, 1968

I’ve had this record for a while, but it took this week’s theme of TV Show records to get me to listen to it.  And, wow!  It’s a really great album.  It’s got the smooth west coast jazz sound that I love written from the perspective of mid century intrigue.  I suppose having never seen an episode of I Spy, I wasn’t really too curious about it’s music.  After all, the composer is Earle Hagen, which may not be a household name for most people, but as the composer of the theme song for The Andy Griffin Show (where I knew him from), he kind of scared me off.

IMG_0514

But boy was I wrong.  Part of the appeal of I Spy was that the show took place all over the world, so it called for different music for every episode.  With the slick style of the show, a jazz theme song was written for it.  What followed is three seasons-and 7 soundtrack albums!- of well crafted studio jazz.  Collect ’em all…after I find all 7 albums that is.

IMG_0515

This particular record was the first of two I Spy albums for Capitol.  While it won no Grammys, Earle Hagen did win the 1968 Emmy for outstanding original score for this record.  The previous soundtracks from the show came out on Warner Brothers, but it’s the same people involved.  And wow, I managed to get through a whole I Spy blog post without mentioning Bill Cosby!

Today’s Summary:
Cost: $2, $335 Remaining

Leave a Reply

