March 7, 2017 To Boldly Buy Records You’ve Never Seen Before

IMG_0491

Leonard Nimoy, Mr. Spock’s Music From Outer Space, Dot DLP-3794, 1967

This is by far the most expensive record I’ve featured in the nine months I’ve been writing this blog.  I got it at a record show in Eugene, Oregon and I was able to talk the seller down from $15 to $12.  I’ve gone for a week and not spent $12 on records, so this is a big deal for me.  But ooooh, what a record this is.  It’s a true cult classic, the subject of a million blog posts already, and I felt that my little column wouldn’t be complete without featuring it.  I’ve also never seen one in person, just online, where it trades for much more money.  As I write this, there’s a still sealed original copy listed for sale at $799.  This one isn’t perfect, but it’s still in it’s 50 year old shrink wrap and it plays great.

IMG_0492

The people who buy this record generally don’t but it for the music.  Trekkies like to collect anything related to their favorite show and this record is certainly a must for any Star Trek fan.  It also didn’t sell well in it’s original run, so there aren’t many on the market.  It’s only “logical” that demand will always outstrip supply on this puppy.

IMG_0493

But that’s a shame because the music is really, um, far out.  The producer and arranger, Charles Graem, later had a fairly big hit with the theme song to the low budget horror soap opera Dark Shadows, and I hear elements of the Graem Sound all through this album.  Nimoy seems to be almost an afterthought, he’s not even on every track, but he talk-sings his heart out.  I’ve played this one quite a bit in the 10 days I’ve owned it, and it will live long and prosper in my collection.

Today’s Summary:
Cost: $12, $337 Remaining

Leave a Reply

