January 9, 2017 But Not Everything is Something

img_9985

Diana Ross, Everything Is Everything, Motown S-724, 1970

Motown was really trying to get Diana Ross’ solo career.  There were some real highs but also some really low points as well.  Namely her second solo album, Everything Is Everything.  She was just coming off her first #1 single, Ain’t No Mountain High Enough, and Motown rush released this record to cash in on the fame.

img_9986

Unfortunately, it isn’t a really cohesive record.  I don’t think it’s anything more than trial bits from random sessions.  The only US single from it, I’m Still Waiting, peaked at #63 in the US (but it was a huge #1 in the UK).  I do particularly love  the title of song 6 on side 1…

img_9988

That doesn’t mean you should’t get a record like this.  Even no-hit Motown records have value.  It doesn’t matter who the artist is, big or small, I buy every reasonably priced Motown record I find.  Even if I never get around to listening to this record, I know it’s going to appreciate on my shelf.

Today’s Summary:
Cost: $2, $506 Remaining

Leave a Reply

