January 1, 2017 Reach Out (And Put Away The Pasta)

img_9858

Richard Simmons, Reach, Elektra E1-60122, 1982

It’s a new year and that means resolving things.  If you’re like me, that means working on being fit.  And if you’re really like me, that means listening to cheap fitness records.  Laughing and trying 35 year old exercises totally counts as cardio.

img_9859

There really isn’t much here that helped me break a sweat.  I may not have Nick Jonas’ abs, but I can put both hands over my head and breathe.  I hope that means that I’m more of a Jane Fonda client than a Richard Simmons patient.

img_9860

But there’s no denying that Richard Simmons was on top of his game.  This record came out on a major label, Elektra, that went all out for it.  Any gatefold cover is twice as expensive to make as a regular one, and at the time, he was able to promote it on his now daily talk show.  It’s a real trip to listen too.  The music has the same early 80s electronic sounds as the hits of the day, until you get to the shrill vocals that try to motivate you to keep breathing.  If I ever get to DJ an 80s party, I might throw in a track or two from this just for a laugh.

Today’s Summary:

Cost: $2, $522 Remaining

Leave a Reply

