December 26, 2016 The Only Discount Record Shopper In New York

img_9887

Simon & Garfunkel, Bridge Over Troubled Water, Columbia KCS-9914, 1970

New York has it all.  Shows, Restaurants, History, Excitement, and Shopping to name but a few, are all great reasons to go there.  Well maybe not so much shopping, if you’re looking for good quality cheap records.  I was fortunate to spend a few days in The City recently and even had some time to check out a few local record shops.  While I found a few things I was interested in, I was shocked at how much they were.

img_9870

Take this decent copy of Simon & Garfunkel’s last great studio album.  I brought it with from from the West Coast as part of a gift.  It is a very solid copy that set me back $4.  One shop I visited had a much worse version, complete with a seam split on the jacket and severe ring wear.  It was offered at $20!

img_9871

Maybe because real estate is so expensive there, shops have to charge more to stay in business.  Also, I was looking in Manhattan, so maybe the prices are cheaper in the outer boroughs or New Jersey, but still, I came away with the feeling that New York isn’t a great place to shop for vinyl.  I suppose it really is true that if you can make it there, you’re gonna make it anywhere.

Today’s Summary:
Cost: $4, $536 Remaining

Leave a Reply

