December 3, 2016 What Not To Get

img_9582

Alvin Simon & Theodore with David Seville, Let’s All Sing With The Chipmunks, Liberty LST-7132, 1961

In an uncharacteristic move for me, I went to file yesterday’s Chipmunk album away into the permanent collection, and in its place I found this $2 version that I’ve had for a few years.  It was shoved back in the stack, probably when I was re-filing my Chubby Checker records.  And since, believe it or not, this isn’t my preferred type of music, I forgot I even had it.

img_9583

This record is just a complete reissue of the 1959 original, but it was repackaged to cash in (!) on the animated cartoon series “the boys” got in 1961.  Called The Alvin Show it was like a 30 minute version of The Chipmunk Song shown every Saturday morning.

img_9584

So while I usually get rid of duplicates, especially re-issues, in the permanent collection, I think I just keep both.  While I’d never knowingly have two, this one does have the new cover, with the cartoon chipmunks on it.  Plus, it’s in stereo, and that’s pretty rare.  It also happens to be in virtually mint condition, so this is the copy I’ll pull out on those once a decade occasions that I want to hear The Chipmunks.

Today’s Summary:

Cost: $2, $607 Remaining

Leave a Reply

