November 28, 2016 I Fell For It

img_9541

Smokey Robinson, Where There’s Smoke…, Motown 5267ML, 1982

I don’t buy re-issues.  Mostly because, despite the obvious use of having records around, I’m not building a music collection.  Virtually anything, well outside of some of the weird records I find, can be found online at any time from anywhere with virtually no expense of storage issues.  So, what I’m really doing is collecting original records with an eye for the unusual.  Re-issued records just get in the way and take up space for original records.

img_9542

Motown actually makes it pretty easy to spot a reissue.  They usually have a small print original release date, in case the thinly pressed record and thick paper vs. cardboard sleeve wasn’t clue enough.  It’s just that I’ve never seen this record, and it has the long version of my favorite Smokey Robinson solo single.  So I tossed it in my pile at the $1 sale without thinking twice.

img_9543

Pulling out the record made me sink a little.  Smokey only put out records on Tamla (Tamla 366 in this case), so seeing the Motown label defines it as a reissue.  Cousin’ still works well on it, so it’s a small loss, and this will hold the place for the original I hope to find one day.  I’d really be upset if I thought I was getting the 1960 Hi, We’re The Miracles for $1, but it’s not a huge tragedy.

Today’s Summary:

Cost: $1, $617 Remaining

Leave a Reply

