October 10, 2016 ‘S Happened Again

img_8656

Ray Conniff, ‘S Awful Nice, Columbia CS 8001, 1958?

You know, I should really know better.  Ray Conniff is one of there all time greatest Goodwill artists, someone that no serious music fan has any interest in.  Even though I’ve blogged about him before, and as much as I tell people that he was was ahead of his time with the technology of the recording studio, no-one but me seems to hip to the vibe he laid down. (Cough).  But really, these records are fun, sorry for being (Cough) a broken record.

img_8657

So, yes, when I saw this record in a $1 bin, yes, on the street, in the rain, in the cold Oregon streets, i didn’t think twice about buying it.  I never in a million years would have figured that this was a record that the great Columbia record would have ever had a need, sales-wise to re-relsease.  I doubt that this was a big seller in 1958, it spawned no hit singles, and wasn’t a well known member of the Conniff catalogue.

img_8658

Yet, somehow, in the 1980s judging by the label, record stores begged for more of ‘S Awful Nice to satisfy the immense customer demand for an echo chamber version of It Had To Be You.  As a record collector, I felt very cheated to fall for this yet again despite the 100 pennies I had to fork over to take this home.  It remains a truism that I might just get my first tattoo on my wallet opening arm that says “Aways Check The Label!”

Today’s Summary:

Cost: $2, $718 Remaining

Leave a Reply

