October 6, 2016 It Happened Today

img_8624

The Ventures, The Ventures’ Christmas Album, Dolton BST-8038, 1965

I’ve been waiting for the right moment to begin laying Christmas records into the blog.  I decided to wait until the day I was confronted with a full on Christmas display.  Low and behold, my local Costco now has a huge floor to ceiling double row of lights tinsel and plastic reindeer.  Behold readers, meet the amazing Ventures’ Christmas Album!

img_8625

The album is actually a Christmas Classic.  It placed on Rolling Stone Magazine’s top 25 Christmas Albums list at #12.  The band does a really good job at taking rock classic and mixing them into the holiday tunes they play.  It’s a really fun record to listen to any day of the year.  This particular copy, much to my amazement, appears to be signed by the band!  I’m not exactly sure how I can verify that, it’s not like The Ventures are exactly household names this side of Tokyo, but it’s still pretty damn exciting to find that.

img_8626

Again, the luck might just be that The Ventures were a Pacific Northwest band, and I mostly shop for records in the Pacific Northwest.  I would imagine I would need to go to Detroit to be this lucky with a Temptations album, or New Jersey to find an autographed Four Seasons record.  I doubt they’d cost $2 though!

Today’s Summary:

Cost: $2, $725 Remining

Leave a Reply

