September 30, 2016 Making Money In The Record Business

img_8592

Gene Pitney, Only Love Can Break A Heart, Musicor MS-3003, 1962

I’ve said this before, but it bears repeating, sometimes you just get lucky.  I know, given the acts that get nominated these days to it, that not many people will recognize that Gene Pitney is a member of the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame.  This does look like your standard issue early 1960s Teen Idol record, but Gene Pitney was much more than that.  This was one of the first big records for the writing team of burt Bacharach & Hal David, and Pitney went on to be the first person to work with and record with The Rolling Stones’ writing team of Mick Jagger & Keith Richards.

img_8593

So, finding this record, in a stereo version no less (but with severe ring wear), was semi-exciting for me.  While I really like his mid-sixties hits, I’m not a huge fan of his early records.  Still, realizing the packaging was really unique, especially for 1962, I thought I found something pretty rare.  The picture on the cover is actually a a full color, album sized, glossy photo of Gene that sides out.  I’m sure most of these would have been tacked up to a wall soon after purchase, making the complete package pretty rare.

img_8594

It wasn’t until I got home and checked my handy Goldmine Record Album Price Guide that I realized that this record is (or was, by my 2013 edition) valued at $50!  A price guide can be a very handy thing to invest in, mostly for moments like this.  There’s no reason to go out and get a brand new one, frankly it would be a miracle to find anyone who would give me $50 for this record, let alone what it is valued at in the 2016 edition of the same book, so looking at a used bookstore or online for a version that is a few years old.  Not only will it cost a fraction of the new version, but the prices will be more in line with reality of where the market for these records really is.  I view the $50 value of this record to really tell me that it is rare.  I’m sure the unique packaging helps more than the music, but it tells me that I made a pretty decent discovery in finding this.

Today’s Summary:

Cost: $5, $736 Remaining

September Summary:

$71 Spent, $2.36 per record

Leave a Reply

