September 3, 2016 I’m Gonna Tie One On Tonight!

vintage vintage haul 1 (91 of 113)

The Wilburn Brothers, I’m Gonna Tie One On Tonight, Decca DL-74645, 1965

I usually try to write a snappy headline, in fact I’ve done for every record up to now.  But this gem from The Wilburn Brothers just cannot topped.  Nor can the song selections, snappy titles like Drivin’ Nails In My Coffin, and Cigarettes, Whuskey, And Wild Wild Women ensure that the listener is in for a night to not remember.

vintage vintage haul 1 (92 of 113)

Even the monochrome back cover has it’s share of debauchery.  The liner notes by someone named Bill Claiborne begin “Decca picked me to do some commenting on this album because I tie one on every night…”.

vintage vintage haul 1 (93 of 113)

And fitting to the album theme, the record has a distinct aroma of a shag carpet the morning after a frat party.  Not that it detracts from the enjoyment of something I never heard of before I shelled out less than half of a pint at my favorite microbrewery.

Today’s Summary:

Cost: $2, $801 Remaining

Leave a Reply

