August 28, 2016 Bobby Does It All!

vintage vintage haul 1 (76 of 113)

Bobby Rydell, Bobby Sings, Bobby Swings, Cameo 1007, 1960

At first glance, my reaction to this record was “duh”.  Of course Bobby Sings, it would be a terrible album if Bobby Danced.  But I snagged it anyway because of it’s age and condition, but mostly because I know I’d never find another one.  Again, I collect records not music, so it’s not at all strange for me to buy a record that I have only a small chance to ever listen to.

vintage vintage haul 1 (77 of 113)

When I got home, I flipped it over and that’s when that Bobby doesn’t only sing, but Bobby Swings as well!  While I think Cameo Records put the wrong picture with the wrong side of this proto-concept album, it was maybe a pretty smart move to show that this teen idol could sing about more than his Swingin’ School.

vintage vintage haul 1 (78 of 113)

And it worked too.  Even though Domenico Modugno’s Nel Blu Di Pinto Di Blu had hit #1 18 months prior, Bobby’s swinging version of a watered down Volare beat out Dean Martin’s version to peak at #4.  And that led to 18 year old Bobby Rydell to becoming the youngest performer to headline the famous Copacabana Nightclub.  So while the side where Bobby sings is pretty awful (!), the side where Bobby swings is pretty darned ok!

Today’s Summary:

Cost: $2, $813 Remaining

Leave a Reply

