August 14, 2016 Blame It On Paul Winter

img_0292

The Paul Winter Sextet, Jazz Meets The Bossa Nova, Columbia CL-1925, 1962

Paul Winter won a collegiate Jazz competition in 1961.  First prize included an invitation to perform the first Jazz concert at The White House, a Columbia Records contract, and a goodwill tour of Latin America.  The timing was spectacular, as the band reached Brazil just as a “new wave” of Bossa Nova was becoming a really big deal on the world’s music scene.  This was their second, and probably best selling album.

img_0293

The lengthy liner notes (I’m not sure I’ve ever seen a longer set) detail the tour.  The band met and played with all the greats of the genre like  Joao Gilberto and covered songs by Antonio Carlos Jobim.  It’s not the most authentic or impressive bossa nova album I have, but for a young American combo, it’s pretty darned good.  The fact that they were integrated also leads to its aura.

img_0295

At $2, I’m happy I got it.  I always get great finds in Jazz bins, International bins, Vocal bins, or Soundtrack bins.  Records like this are why I love records.  As for Paul Winter, he’s still out there in his late 70s, with 50 albums to his credit.  I had never heard of him before now, but call me a fan.

Today’s Summary:

Cost: $2, $841 Remaining

 

Leave a Reply

