August 3, 2016 Four Jacks For A Buck

IMG_8132

Four Jacks And A Jill, Master Jack, RCA LSP-4019, 1968

I didn’t know what to make of this record when I found it.  I have a vague memory of the title track being a minor hit (#18, 1968), but while I have the single, I don’t think I’ve ever played it.  That happens with 45s, when you find a nice stash somewhere, they’re generally “20 for $20” or some kind of price that encourages a bulk purchase.  I have a ton of them that I’ve never listened to.

IMG_8131

But, seeing that “the sound is new“, and it was in great shape (including the original shrink wrap), I sprung for it.  At first, I thought they were doing the worst possible English accent I’ve ever heard.  A little research turns up the fact that they were from South Africa and probably have a spot on accent from there.  Still, they’re not a particularly cute band, don’t seem to have any particular musical chops, and sing a very poppy kind of folk music.  It’s like an alien Paul Simon came to Earth and left behind some allegories that you really have no interest in trying to relate to.

IMG_8133

So, The Four Jacks And A Jill will join the collection, but honestly, this close to perfect record was fairly priced at $1.

 Today’s Summary:

Cost: $1, $862 Remaining

Leave a Reply

