July 21, 2016 Three Faces Of Gale

IMG_8148

Gale Garnett, The Many Faces Of Gale, RCA LSP-3325, 1965

This is embarrassing.  I always look up a record before I blog about it, mostly to confirm the issue date and catalogue number for the description.  I love Gale Garnett’s voice, but I only really know it from her one hit, We’ll Sing In the Sunshine.  When I saw this 1965 followup record, I knew I wanted it despite the lack of a hit single.  I also like to read a short biography of the artist, and in this case, I was sure I remembered that she had died.

Imagine my surprise when my quick background research revealed that someone I was sure had died was, in fact still alive.  Sorry Ms. Garnett!

IMG_8149

Anyway, RCA didn’t really go all out on this record.  The back cover has no pictures on it, just a “letter” from NBC-TV star Pernell Roberts, an odd choice if ever there was one.  I guess because Bonanza was an NBC show, and NBC was owned by RCA at the time, there was a corporate relationship going on.

IMG_8151

The good news is, like many adult oriented records, this one was well cared for down to it’s period correct inner sleeve.  Almost half of the tunes are self-penned, which is impressive,  but I found the covers to be the better arrangements..  I’ll keep this record handy for a fall afternoon when I want something a little melancholy and different.

Today’s Summary:

Cost: $3, $896 Remaining

Leave a Reply

