July 5, 2016 Nixon’s Not The One

IMG_7411

David Frye, I Am The President, Elektra, EKS-75006, 1969

Four days in to our salute to the American politician, I can say that the 1960 were the golden age of the genre, and that Democratic Presidents have more to be funny about than do Republican ones.   David Frye gives it a good effort, but knowing how the Richard Nixon administration ended up just makes this record less funny.

IMG_7412

Like the other records, this one features voice actors impersonating the politicians of the day performing ridiculous skits.  Not really knowing a lot of the background of the people involved, some of the material went over my head.  Was Hubert Humphrey really not that funny in real life?

IMG_7413 (1).jpg

I’ll confess that I really only bought this because I knew this week was coming and I needed to have as many political records as I could.  While it’s in mint condition, it’s the most expensive record I’ve bought in a while.

Today’s Summary:

Cost: $5, $931 Remaining

Leave a Reply

