June 10, 2016 Stop, Hey, What’s That Sound?

soundeffects3Authentic Sound Effects, Volume 2, Electra 7252, 1964

Another reason to shop at Goodwill is because of the records there can’t be found anywhere else.  For $1 I was able to listen to 26 minutes of trains and typewriters and clocks and animals.  This is literally a record that has all the bells and whistles.

I have no idea what I’ll do with it, but I’m glad I have it.  I don’t own a TV station or make any industrial presentations, what the cover tells me the record is perfect for, but I do thank whomever Jac Holzman was for compiling this album.  And it is fun to hear what Grand Central Station sounded like in 1964.

soundeffects2

Maybe I’ll blast “Steam Locomotive” when my niece comes for a visit and won’t get up in the morning.  I could sound the “Gong Seven Strokes” at dinner time, or put on the horse effects while I call someone and pretend I’m out riding.  I’m only limited by my imagination.soundeffects

The album came out on Electra Records, an odd choice because they were a Folk label in the early 1960s.  It obviously never charted, but it really must have sold, because when I got it home I saw that the label is the Elektra version from the late 70s until the mid 80s.  Keeping an album active in a catalog only make sense if the record sells, so maybe this record could be a sleeper million seller.  And that’s something to really make some noise about.

Today’s Summary:

Cost: $1, $979 Remaining

Leave a Reply

